ss1

Easter
2005-03-28 - 12:05 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

A few years ago, I drove around Denver on a sunny Sunday.  Not a soul was out.  It was Easter.


Its a different feeling to be in the middle of a metropolitan area and not have anyone around.  At first its a little creepy, then you get used to it.  Then you graduate into mild surprise when you see someone.  Your mind stops and says, "What the fuck is someone doing out here now?"


And I drove around town.  I didn't really feel melancholy.  I put it together that it was Easter, and everyone was eating with their families, wakening to easter baskets and much too early-in-the-morning religious observances. 


"This is what its like when you don't have to have easter dinner with the family," I told myself, "This is what you would be doing all those times."


Which was fine for me. The sun poured in through the moonroof, and the mountains lurked on the edge of town.


And then I got stoned.  I went and hung out with family and friends.


Today I sat with the family and ate.  I watched them, loved them.  Saw how they aged and changed, grew into beautiful confident people, or slowly and gracefully grow old.  Maybe just for today.


Maybe just for today.  It was nice.  Then I strapped on some headphones and worked on the album, and watched my Alma Mater kick some ass on the hardwood.


And for right now Im listening to songs that make me think of the wild Kerouac-ian trip I took to get back to fair Denver a few years ago.


I miss Denver.  I have to wonder if its done with me.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>