ss1

Seven Month Seasons
2005-03-01 - 12:23 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

The snow comes down in large wet flakes.  Its queerly pretty.


You can walk around in it, and it covers up the blight and grime of modern day life with a blanket of Rockwellian tranquility.


Underneath, of course, is still the rancor, but who cares?  For tonight, we have the purity we seek.  Until a dog wanders by and pisses on the snow, but until then..., the moment is.


Strange to think that this weather could kill. 


I watch the weather, you know, with a practiced, sage eye.  I know the forecast before I read it or see it. 


I admire the weather and love it, as much as you can love something like that.  I gathered weather reports today, read them from across the country.  I even thought I could make it on the north shore of Alaska, really.  Some people say its all what you're used to.  Others claim that weather seems to define their happiness with life.


Personally, I think its intrinsic.  Happiness comes from within.  Weather is something you can admire like a painting, and even experience like a roller coaster ride.  But in the end, a thick coat or a slathering of sunscreen can work wonders for you.


Your state of happiness or unhappiness will still be there.


I wish we had longer seasons.  People have told me they can no longer take the winter, and want it to be warm again.  Reflecting on this the other day, I realized I could go for another couple of months.  Then seven months of spring.  Then seven months of summer.


My, the time does fly.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>