ss1

Mick's Birthday
2005-02-21 - 11:53 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

"No sex on the way home."  Mick's aunt said blithely to her sister and Mick's dad as they left the bar. "Wear a raincoat."


I was out with Mick, for his birthday.  His quiet girl sat next to me.  She had a nice rack and a moustache.  Young, unformed, liked dating a guy from a band.  I sat with her, mick, his father, and two of his aunts from his mother's side of the family.  They were energetic and loud.  Obnoxious.  They told stories of pissing themselves and sang along to the jukebox like it was something new.  His aunts reminded me of a bad saturday night live skit.  Full of life, but ultimately going nowhere.


"And make sure mick has a good time tonight.  Give him a cavity search," and Beth's eyes lit upon me, "NO WAIT!  A GERBIL!  GET A GERBIL AND PUT IT UP THERE!"


"I'll pass on that." I said, "I'm sure that sentiment came from the right place but..."


And she began babbling.  The waitress across the bar made eyes at me.  Cute face, but overweight.  Massive breasts and a sassy attitude, she had bought us a round.  The last time I was in there, she opened the kitchen for us after a gig because I was hungry.  Good heart.


Everyone went our separate ways.  Mick and I walked outside while his new girlfriend waited inside.  I popped our latest cd out of the player in my car and gave it to him.


"Happy Birthday, bro."  I said, and gave him a hug.


He looked me in the eye, and looked definitely appreciative.


"Thanks, bro.  Thanks for coming out, man."


"No worries, go have fun with your girl."


"I'll try."


"Won't be difficult."


"I know, right?"


He walked back into the bar, and I drove off into the night.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>