ss1

Corruption
2004-09-26 - 11:27 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

In my psychology classes in college, they taught us that sleep deprivation was one of the gold-standard tactics used in any induction, from cults to the armed forces.  It keeps people off-balance, making poor decisions, lowers their critical reasoning abilities.  It lowers their defenses and enables easy assimilation into the group.


I find myself swilling coffee early in the morning and wondering if this bears any resmblence to what is happening with me at the Corporation.  I jumped the other day when the phone rang.  I'm still not sure why.


Even before the job, I bought a cell-phone.  For personal reasons, but I rationalized it as necessary to feild job interview inquiries.  Maybe it wont be too long before I'm bandying about the water-cooler, coffee in hand, vacant sleep-dep eyes meandering over the beige earth-tone walls, talking about my latest needless consumeristic purchase.


The cellphone was the first step in the deflowering of a consumeristic virgin.  The Corporation is out to make consumeristic whores out of us all, employee and customer alike.


We all seem to live with a fatalistic notion.  "Ah," the woman who trains me, Elaine, says, "I surf the internet.  If they wanna' fire me, they're gonna' fire me.  If they want to, they'll find a way."


Until then, we suck off the teat, drinking the milk made from the fat of the land riven barren by the scabrous touch of the Corporation.  It leaves nothing clean, corrupting all as it passes. 


Even me.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>