ss1

My Kitty Ran Away
2004-09-07 - 3:32 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Boo ran away.

I pursued him, and tried to lure him.  He got into the back yard, then waltzed near, with his tail-curly-cued like this-is-the-time-of-his-life, the neighbor's dog kennel.

The dog woofed, and that's all I saw of Boo for awhile.  He was gone like a shot over the backyard neighbor's fence.  They keep ducks, and have a pond.

I tromped all over looking for him.  Bothered the neighbors, who were surprisingly cool about letting me wander their turf.  Hours.

Then I had to attend to my day.  Coming back later in the evening, I got a flashlight and patrolled the neighborhood.

"Boo-oo!  Boo-oo!"

I missed my kitty very much.

After I walked a half of a mile or so, I saw a black cat, scampering out to the road.  A very large black cat.

"Boo!" I called to him.

He stopped and looked at me, eyes wide, ears peaked, still looking very much scared, freaked.

I stepped towards him, and again, he was gone like a flash.  My kitty ran away from me.

I wandered into the yard which enveloped him in darkness, calling to him, to no avail. So I wandered some more.  Maybe he would come out.  Maybe it wasnt him. 

Wandering the neighborhood, I noticed how it was so proto-typical suburbia.  It could have been anywhere American, with no real flair, all the same.  It could have been any of the cities I know.  Flashing the flashlight around, I spotted a trembling little grey-and-black striped kitten sitting on a storm drain cover.

"Hi little fella'!"  I said, trying to sound friendly, "Do you know where my kitty is?"

I petted him a few times, and he warmed to me, followed me down the road.  A car approached and I stood in front of the kitten, making it stop.  Scooping up the kitten, I waved them on.  They parked nearby and we talked some.  They hadnt seen my cat, and didnt know about this kitten.

Eventually the kitten melted off into the darkness.  Still I wandered around as the time crept on, calling out for my cat.

I went home. 

Later on, I walked some more, calling out to my lost kitty in the night air, hoping my calls would tell him which way was home.  He'd never gone this far.  He'd never been scared like that.  Still nothing.

The night wore on, and still no Boo.  I walked out in the yard at two and three a.m. calling for my kitty, hoping that, like an aural beacon, he could hear me over the distance, and maybe walk towards something familiar.  I missed my kitty terribly.

"BOOO-OOO!  BOOO-OOO!"

Sure, maybe I was pissing of the neighbors, but really, I would have spoiled for a fight.  Plus, this is Perfect Suburbia.  No one questions anyone of their bad habits, even if that means one's neighbor is out in the yard at 3:00 am screaming like an idiot.  Just ignore it, these things will pass.  Especially if they don't impact the property values.

I couldnt sleep. Tossed and turned.  Got up several times to look out the patio windows to see a sign of Boo.

Nothing.

Eventually, I got up at 6:00 a.m., and there he was on the patio.  I opened the door, and we had an affectionate reunion.

My kitty came back to me, free and of his own will.

He's been very affectionate since, as if realizing that where he is isnt so bad, and the outside isnt all its cracked up to be.  He can sleep where he wants, when he wants.  No shortage of food or water.  And always someone to pet him.

I went and got him a collar and an ID tag.  I figure it would help should this happen again.

I dont really like the collar, and neither does he.  To me, it brings to mind a slave mentality.  Like a collar of bondage, a slave collar implying a master and slave relationship, and I dont really like that.   He showed he is capable of leaving or staying, and chose to stay.  He showed he is capable of surviving.  I feel like I should respect that. 

At the same time, it is only logical.  A collar with ID would facillitate location and safety should he decide to wander again.

I dont really know what to do.

But my kitty did come back to me.  I suppose that is what matters.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>