ss1

So Much Misery
2003-11-18 - 1:17 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Then on Saturday, when I went to jims, the bar that belongs to the man with the treach-hole voice box thing, and worked on the screenplay with Rob.

And everybody I spoke to, which wasnt to many, thankfully, laid on me a tale of woe.

Robs going to marry his girlfriend whom he does not love out of obligation.

The barmaid went on forever on the verge of tears about four children that were dumped into her lap, her custody.

She has a good heart.  She also has one of her own, and the deadbeat who blew his entire paycheck on blow that is living with her has two children of his own.

It resulted somehow from the chilren's father, a former convict, violating his parole by assaulting the children's mother by throwing a beer bottle at her head after 'the three year old' came up to him with a fistfull of her crack cocaine.  He's going back to jail, the mother was declared unfit, the children became wards of the state and the barmaid now has four extra kids to mind.  And I'm sitting there listening to this thinking, 'You know, I feel like I'm struggling to raise a cat.'.

Then, out of the blue, an attractive woman comes into the bar and sits down next to me.  Brunnette, blue eyes, glasses.  Beige pants that frame her ass nicely, polyester yellow top that was only buttoned conspicuously around her breasts.  A barmaid from another bar that closed early.

And she relates to me, that one of her sons skipped eighty days of school, got sent to another school district and came back and is doing much better.  That, and she's up on charges of domestice violence for slugging her live in boyfriend in the face.  She says she'll get probation for three years because she hasnt been in any other trouble, and besides, what can you do?  She's one twenty, he was two thirty and had been controlling her every move for about a year now.  They (minus the boyfriend, of course) are now living with her mother, which sucks.  And she works an insurance job, getting home at three thirty from the bar job three or four nights a week, falling asleep at four thirty, getting up at six thirty to get her boys off to high school (?), and then going to her insurance job.  Its a wonder to me that more people don't kill themselves.

After all that, I put my head down on the bar for a minute when everyone left me alone and wallowed, shaking my head from side to side and quietly moaning.

So much misery.

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>