ss1

What's Britney Wearing?
2003-11-11 - 11:57 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I saw an old man a few days ago, driving a rather new, beige chevy malibu.

I knew he was old before I actually saw him, because he was driving thirty in a fifty mile an hour zone, braking like looking for an address at all intersections, and drifting into the oncoming lane otherwise.

He sat there, whisp of grey hair standing up over the seat rest, leaning dangerously to the driver side, and I wondered why more modern stories have never personified death in this form.  It makes perfect sense to me.  You could have him weave down  the road, for instance, and have him stop at someone's house, get out, wheeze, pop some pills, stagger in to the dwelling and take someone's life.  None of this black cowl and scythe stuff, too passe'.  Think of it.  When death comes for you, he's a bad senior citizen driver.

It has its own quirky, spook appeal.

-----

Tonight while I was eating dinner, Boo tried to get in my lap, using claws and jumping skills.  Unfortunately, I was wearing shorts.  I screamed.  I looked down at boo, who looked at me with innocence, and he pawed at my leg, sans claws, gently, then gently pawed at the other.  I frowned, and he slunk away to his favorite chair.  I think he felt bad, he usually doesn't give up on what he wants.

After I finished eating, I scooped up Boo and showed him some love, to show him I wasn't mad at him.  Later on, I decided that no matter how different this animal was from me, or cats in general, I was going to do my best to show him love.  To nuture and grow.  As much for me as for him, perhaps by doing this it will help me grow, maybe in ways I don't anticipate.

Later on, as he fell asleep on me again, woke up and wandered off, startled the shit out of me as he crept back, unnoticed, until he gently sniffed my ear with little kitten sniffs.  He's always very gentle around my face and ears, even when he tries to nibble my nose.

Except, that is, when I'm sleeping.  Nope, fucker walks right on my head after pouncing.

----------

Watch out:  Britney Spears media blitz.

People are dying everyday in Iraq.  What's Britney wearing?

-----------

The Turks are claiming the Bush doctrine as their own, saying that like Israel and the US, they have the right to formulate pre-emptive strikes on terrorists to ensure their sovereign safety.  They have a long standing blood feud with the Kurds of northern Iraq, with whom they've been at unilateral peace since the capture of the Kurdish leader in 1999.

It will take a generation or two, but this Doctrine could possibly be one of the most monstrous thing to come along in a long time, especially when it sanctions war easily on the following ephermeal grounds:  1)  labelling a group of people 'terrorists', and 2) arbitrarely deeming a lack of a feeling of safety within the aggressor nation's borders.

It doesnt take much to declare a non-national a terrorist.  It doesn't take much to declare a national a terrorist.  This is all just bad, bad, bad, bad.

Wars could easily ignite and spread like wildfire.  And if this doctrine outlives the current United States global hedgemony, utter chaos will result.

Yes, the US is the defacto ruler of the world.  Astonishingly, the US runs wars on the cheap, no more than five percent of the GDP for Iraq and Afiganistan combined.  Compare and contrast this with WWII which hovered around fifty percent of the GDP.  That, my friends, is a scary thought when one considers the damage that has been done in those two theatres of conflict.  If it ever becomes profitable, the powers that be will move the world to that precipice.  however, I think the master plan has the west instituting the War on Terror as the new Cold War.  A constant state of high military readiness and flow of goods and services will result in the lining of a measely few people.  The world will keep spinning.

What's Britney wearing?


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>