ss1

Revolving Series Of Watchgear Cliques
2003-11-10 - 12:36 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

So, I went down to the coffeeshop tonight.  Supposedly I was to meet with the violinst, Steve, and a piano player Val, and jam.

I was late by my characteristic fifteen minutes, Steve was late by a half an hour, and showed up sounding rough, like shaking off a bad cold.

Val was sick, he said, and not coming.

So I sat there, as a clique formed, and tuned my instruments.  Played them each.  Listened to the conversation and contributed some.  Interesting how all the world is really run by a series of cliques, and knowing who to know, or rather to get to know, to get what you want is key.

I listened to this clique, it sounded varied of experience, a certain off the wall wit, and an incredible propensity for talking about each other behind each other's backs.  That's something I don't like, and in which I don't participate.  I end up saying something like, "Well, if you want to know, maybe you should ask them."  I am a repositor of many secrets, and this is for a reason. 

I also noted the tendency for others to exaggerate their deeds and status.  Insecurity abounds, and always has.  I never do.  Never do.  Tired of all the bullshit, I guess.

Steve didnt end up jamming with me, which is a shame.  And he told me a bit about the history of his instument, which is worth as much as some houses I've seen.  Much history and insurance.  He paid thirty cash, and had to take out a loan for the rest, which sounds appropo for a house, for the most part, anyway.  Which is capitalistic mad for a violin, but it bears his family lineage. 

We sat and sipped coffee as I played the blues.  People and their neuroses, their dictated little plays and interweaving story lines swirled about the room, each wanting to be the center of attention in their own way, the coffee girl, an attractive and different flavor of human did extroverted displays.  Another strange, surly young man with a good sense of humor made strange noises when my playing hit a good level.  Jealous, I guess. 

And me?  I just wanted to jam, man.  No more booze, no more drugs.  The music has taken a larger part of my life, now.

When I finished, a couple of people asked me where I play, and where they could hear me. They gave me many compliments.  It was nice to hear.

And Steve said something about getting a sound together, getting a band together, and getting some rehearsals.  Which is music to my ears.  So, I'll keep coming around, and maybe this clique can help me get what I want.  Or get close to it, or start to get what I want.

It would be nice, to get what I want, every now and again.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>