ss1

Malnourished Kitty
2003-11-05 - 4:50 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Quietly, I am amazed by how much my kitty eats and excretes.

He was malnourished when I got him, you could tell.  And by the white trash's own admission, he couldn't afford the kitty litter and cat food bill.

The living conditions were bleak, with trash piled up throughout the house up against the walls to a significant level, and a path cleared through all the shit.  Every flat surface was covered with refuse and dirty dishes.

I told the man my name, though he didn't give a damn.  He shook my hands with three fingers of his dirty, scaly paw, eyeing me closely for a hint of recognition, of which I gave none.  Never heard of the fucker.  Maybe it was a pseudonym, I don't know.  It was pretty clear it was him and the boy, his son.

His son came in with Boo and put it in the kitty carrier for me.

"That's the male."

"I trust you." I said.

And then the kid tried to name the cat as he said goodbye.  He stuttered when he did it.

"Goodbye....clifford."

Don't try to name my cat, kid.

"If he cries, bring him back tomorrow,"  the kid said.

The dad looked at me and smiled, as if to say, 'isn't that cute'.  In the meantime, had I still been a social worker, and been brought to the home by some violation of the law and the family had been in the system, I would have taken the child out of the home.  I quickly said my goodbye.

Its okay to be poor.  There is no shame.  But to be filthy is another thing, especially in this country.  We have trash service, put your shit out to be picked up...find a local dumpster. 

And now Boo is starting to fill out a little bit.  Which is nice.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>