ss1

A Few Random Thoughts
2003-10-03 - 4:30 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Why is it that every woman I've ever laid eyes on named 'Candy' is morbidly obese?

---

The dirt flying up about Ahnold Scwartzenneger in the california recall election is no surprise.  This is how Gray Davis won his job, and has kept his job.  Unfortunately for cali, they're caught between the devil and the deep blue sea.  Gray Davis strikes me as the least innovative, imaginative politico I've seen in a long time.  Put another way, the solution to cali's mammoth deficit is not a huge increase in licesnsing fees for automobiles.  I heard some people, my aunt being one of them, say that for certain classes of automobiles that raises the price to close to a thousand dollars to put an automobile on the road.  Whoever has to swallow that bitter, unimaginative pill will be pissed, and seems like he's trying to pin the deficit in one place and one fell swoop.  Trying to, anyway.  Billions.  I'm no policy monger, but ideally I'd think you'd want to make little cuts across the board, with maybe a few large cuts, followed by little tax increases all across the board.  Everybody loses, everybody pays, and sell it as "We're all in this together."

And, hate to say it, but Ahnold doesnt strike me as too bright a cat.  He rambles like a motherfucker and his sentences largely don't make much sense.  You've been living here for how long, dude.  Speak the language.  Or pick up spanish.  Something.  He's an ACTOR.  These are not bright people. 

Ive been walking around saying "I like hitler, vote for me." all day long.

Soon, the Davis campaign will dig up that Ahnold hates the elderly and beats babies.

-----

As for me, I'm okay with the elderly, except when they drive, and have never beaten a baby.  And although I'm walking around doing my best Ahnold impression "I like hitler, vote for me.", I really haven't been walking too far.  2 days ago, I had some sort of infection in my eye.  Yesterday something hit.  I want to say "cold", but this went above and beyond the duty of any mere cold.  I lay in bed all day delirious with fever, racking headache, congestion and sore throat, and slept for twenty hours sans any sort of medication.  When I did get up to move, it was as though I was under water.  As I lay there, unsure of which way I was facing or which way I was laying, which is a strange feeling, in my delirium I composed poetry to pass the time.  Didn't write any of it down.  That would have been difficult.  It was good stuff.  All lost.

The fever broke at 200 am, and I got up and ate, watched another of the installment of the Blues series EP'd by Scorsese.  I've seen the first and the third now.  The first was Scorsese's, and it rocked.  This one seemed to be a bit much about Marshall Chess, and what I took away from it was that I probably wouldn't want to make a deal with Marshall Chess.  And a lot of it seemed to be some sort of validation or justification of an album done with Muddy Waters twenty or thirty years ago called Electric Mud that got panned at the time.  Its a long story, but what bothered me about this installment was that it seemed as though Marshall Chess was trying to lay claim to plaudits that were not his.  You got famous by recording Muddy Waters.  I think a lot of people would get famous by recording Muddy Waters.  Muddy Waters is a blues legend, you are not.  And maybe that's a bit of the complaint I have with labels.  Its the artist, not the buisness people.  And in this era of corporate rock and teenagers with production companies, the artist again seems left out in the cold as the executive corporate types try to wear laurels of accomplishment, artistry, that are not theirs.  Just because you pushed Britteny Spears in everyone's faces doesn't mean her music is really pathos.  And it doesn't make that person an artist, no matter how badly one wants the recognition.

Today I'm recovering, taking things slow.  Skipping the workout, laying low.  The fever has mostly left.  Or I think it has.  I still feel warm from time to time, still a little congested.  It was weird.  It kicked my ass, and now, hopefully, its leaving.

Hopefully, anyway.

Maybe I should score some Nyquil.

 

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>