ss1

Incorrect Punctuation Using Motherfuckers
2003-09-18 - 1:33 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I saw this sign on the local baptist church today.  It usually has a cutsey message that tries to recruit new followers.  Like 'Come in, send some knee mail' or 'Chch.  What's missing?  UR.'

Today it read:

'Sign broken

message inside.'

I drove past it a bunch.  Each time I was mystified, "Why would anyone want to sign a broken message?"  It seemed to have the opposite effect of recruitment, which doubly confused me.  I mean, why the hell would I want to go inside and sign a broken message?  I can stay out here and NOT sign the damn thing.  Why would I want to attatch my name to something broken? 

Or was it a message to the faithful?  Will they be coming in droves to sign a broken message?  Will mid size sedans file in quietly one after another, head lights filling the quiet dark or the parking lot, families piling out at the behest of their shaman to perform some sort of apocolyptic ritual?  And, quite frankly, a broken message to whom?

Why is it broken?  Can't they fix it?

What the fuck...?

The last time I went past, after visiting a friend, I finally got it, thankfully on my own , without any help.

I'd like to say "oh-ho-ho, you devious evangelical devils, you almost got me inside your house of superstition and dogma."  but the way I read it kept me away, anyway.

Baptists aren't too big on correct punctuation, I think, is what I've taken away from this.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>