ss1

Snatching the Homevisit
2003-08-25 - 1:23 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

It was time for Sanford's homevisit.

I called his mother.

"Now don't you worry none about him misbehavin',"  she said

"When he gets outta' line, I thresh him with the belt real good."

She laughed a whiskey and ciggarrette hoarse laugh.

I tried to explain that beating him

might not help things.

How do you make a dog mean?

You kick it, beat it, shout at it,

deprive it of food.

She called me a panoply of descriptive names after that,

all mixed in, like, 'cracker', 'white bread', and 'ol' fey'.

I always liked 'ol' fey'. 

How dare I suggest a different way to raise her child,

especially since things were going so swell, anyway.

 

Sanford didn't go on his homevisit that weekend.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>