ss1

Photo Album
2003-08-06 - 1:06 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

On the counter-top, in the kitchen, sits ancient photo albums.

Pictures older than me and twice my age

grace the black card-board like pages.

Eyes from eras long gone past

stare out at me

in the bleak shades of tan and grey,

names unknown, some likely never

to be known again,

stories lost to the ages,

as they stand their,

some embarassed,

some surprised,

most dour looking,

with the clear cut landscape surrounding them

no shelter to be found,

speaking of the harshness of life,

and the withering aspects of age

and time gone by,

these children, aunts and uncles,

adults,

all dead

long dead

she died in childbirth

he drank real hard,

he was in world war one

and she died young, too,

they all look at me with eyes

begging to be redeemed,

imploring me for answers,

of which I have very few,

and I am caught by the heavy

weight of time

seeing the youth long since spent and gone

shrivled like a grape

drying in the sun

in my grandparents,

that withering loss of vitality,

and know that these photos,

these lost and inexplicable lives

are as close as I can come

to the nirvana of the soul I seek,

the bulwark against entropy and decay,

the coffee break, the time-out of life,

that moment you wish you could dwell in

and not have to fight the ankle biting

dogs of time to survive for another day.

Which hounding, bit by little bit,

in the end, fells us all.

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>