ss1

Reign It In, Buck
2003-08-05 - 2:42 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I've noticed that if I spend a lot of time alone, about once a day I'll have a high pitched outburst.

For no real reason whatsoever, my normal, usually placid demeanor is dispatched in favor of some high pitched noise.  Its one of those things that one notices about one's self, but tends to forget over time, only to rediscover it later, after the evidence mounts up that something strange is going on with one's behavior.  Like, say, if you were a smoker, and you go out drinking or something, whatever, and you end up taking other people's lighters.  You don't mean to do it.  In fact, you don't even think about it at all, but there it is, at the end of the night, all the evidence in your pocket, six bics with no explanation, and you think to yourself with sheepish guilt, "I've got to reign that in."

Well, with me, no smokee, no drinkee, I notice that I make high pitched keenings.  And have done so for a long time. For instance, today, I sang a song in falsetto.  Only when no one is around.  No one to hear, no evidence.  Nobody knows nothing.

And here's the thing.  I'm 6'2".  I've got a deep voice.  I'm easy going, mellow.  Laid back.  It just does not do to wander around anywhere making a strange high pitch noise with my demeanor. It does not fit.

I realized this long ago, which was reflected two days ago, when in the kitchen I was putting away some dishes, emptying the dishwasher, putting new stuff into it.  As I bent over, my head grazed some silverware standing in a glass.  Didn't hit it, didn't bump it.  Barely even touched the fuckers.

And I WAILED. 

Howling. High pitched keening all around.

"OWwwwwwwwwwwwahh-h-h-h-h-oooooooooooooo"

The first time I realized how innappropriate this was, was, as I said, years ago.  I had a girlfriend with which I was very comfortable.  Yes, there was burning passion.  But also we gave each other enough space and acceptance to kinda' forget the other person was there, in a way, or manner of speaking.  Its actually quite a blessed state.

Anyway, similar situation, silverwear grazed my head, barely touching it.

And I HOWL.

"AWooooooooh-ah-ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!"

She comes storming into the kitchen.

"OH MY GOD, BABY!!! WHAT IS IT!!!  WHAT'S WRONG!!!"

Whoops.  Forgot she was there.

In a very small and humble voice, I said, "nothing."

"I'VE NEVER HEARD YOU MAKE A NOISE LIKE THAT BEFORE!!!  WHAT HAPPENED!!!"

Well, the silverwear hit me in the head.  Yeah, you know. 

Try explaining that one.  "I forgot you were even there" doesn't tend to go over very well. 

It went downhill from there.

Gotta' reign that in.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>