ss1

Blurb From the Frontlines
2003-07-10 - 3:50 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

So, I went on a hike for my birthday, which was yesterday at Sleeping Bear Dunes, on the shores of Lake Michigan. 

Sleeping Bear, so named by the Indians for her shifting sand, and two sandy isles asleep in the great water, her cubs, the little bear islands.  Huge dunes, cliffside hundreds of feet over a strange rocky incline, blue water.  Hiking there, trying to find some peace and victory in life.

Right now, I'm sitting in a library in a podunk little town, using their internet connection to update.  I get the feeling they're looking over my shoulder as I write.  There's only two computers to use, one is down, and a WASP mother is waiting with her rather loud children to use my machine for her "husband's work", whatever that is.

She can wait.  Although there seems to be a que forming.

Ah, small town politics.  There will be no lynching of the outsider today.

"Yew ain't frum around heyar, is you?"

No, I'm not, but the que is fucking annoying.

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>