ss1

Perhaps I am Just Difficult To Love
2003-06-26 - 2:12 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

The girl I walked with months ago works at the coffee shop.  There was a poetry reading tonite.  I read and played accompanyment on a beautiful red guild guitar.

"I'm sorry that I was so...cold, earlier,"  said amanda.

"Its okay."

"I just didn't want you to think I was...a...a...bitch."

"I don't."

And so on.  I tried to talk to her, but there's always been something.  I know there is a connection, but now, looking back on it, I have the sense she fights it.  She does have a boyfriend, I think. 

Such a cute little girl.  Petite. Sexy.  Boundless energy.

I asked her questions, and it felt like twenty questions.  No flow.  But when I look into her eyes long enough, I see something there.  I know something is there for me.

My cock gets hard talking to her sometimes.  I have no desire to break up anyone's relationship, least of all at the behest of my selfish greedy male member.  He's so simple, yet I love him so.  Sexual fantasies of her drift easily into and out of my mind.  I can tell she likes it when I watch her, something again about the eyes.  And she's so breezy and nice with everyone else.  That tells me something, too.

I read my poems earlier, bringing a mic stand and accompanying the other readers.  One woman accompanyed me on piano.  I stood and red my long poem written on the cliffs of pictured rocks memorial day weekend, the mournful piano tinkling behind me as I flipped page after page onto the table with style and a little flourish, eventually covering it.

Later, as everyone started to leave, I played a song on demand for amanda, who hadn't heard me play.  We talked for a bit, then she got really busy.

I sat and played.  Seranaded her softly from time to time while she worked, me sitting off to the side on the arm of a sofa, playing for her.  Singing for her.  I felt that it was a sweet thing to do for her.  I hope she liked it.

Then I left and met much of the group at the bar, where after initial awkwardness was left chatting with a neurotic new yorker, who pulled much more out of me than I'd like, and detailed her most recent depressive breakdown and near suicide.

I don't like talking about myself, really.  I can feel the judgements, and we are all so more than our disparate peices.  I suppose that makes me difficult to love sometimes, when all I want is to be loved.  I just don't want to disclose.

I listened to her for hours.  She borrowed three bucks for beer.

We hugged and went our separate ways.

And I am left with the feeling of being difficult to love, just by trying to love the world.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>