ss1

Vintage Leather Coats
2002-12-13 - 9:50 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

So there's this St. Vincent Depaul store up at the town, a few miles from where I've gone into periodic solitary.

Now, lately, I've been about the vintage apparel.  The places I haunt are goldmines.

Lots of old people kipping off with wonderfully retro garb in their wardrobe.

Anyway, I now own two vintage leather jackets, right?  For no real reason, other than I like them. 

And I had to restrain myself from buying more, or envisioning some lame half-assed business attempt at re-selling them.

Dammit.  I just like a good vintage retro seventies leather coat.

Anyway, I made a forage out to the nearest grocery store one day, and while perusing the aisles, being helped by the wonderfully friendly locals, and after realizing my accent has not totally faded, I saw an old, withered white haired lady moving slow like a crocidile through the endless swamp of capitalism.

Uhhhmm.  Yeah.

And she had on this awesome vintage leather coat.  It rocked the seventies like a motherfucker, even if she didn't rock it the way it should have been in the seventies.  Maybe HER seventies, I don't know. 

It never rocked in the true seventies style, is what I'm saying. 

I saw the woman, and her coat, and unbidden, the thought leapt into my mind.

"Oh yes, someday soon, I will own that coat."

And I actually started laughing out loud at the callous nature of my uncontrollable mind.

Yep, lady, just countin' the days with you.

I see your picture in the obits, and my ass is at St.Vincent's.

Anybody want a nice vintage leather coat?


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>