ss1

Tales of Solitude pt4
2002-12-06 - 9:41 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Tales of Solitude

 

part 4:  A Glimpse of Peace

 

 

I woke up this morning and looked out towards the road.  I guess I'm unclear if this is considered the 'front yard' or the 'back yard', as typically, all the action of the road denotes the front and everything else is the back.

 

Here, the lake is all the action.

 

But whatever.

 

And I saw that there were some tracks out of my driveway.  Tracks that, suspiciously, exited the opposite direction that I used yesterday.

 

Hmm.

 

I drove around the lake yesterday and tried to count how many houses showed signs of life.  About a dozen.

 

So...who's fuckin' with me.

 

I stuck my head out one of the front patio windows and reveled in the quiet.  It struck me with welcome clarity, the difference.

 

In the city, any metropolitan area, you create your niche of sanity, your sanctuary, your home, and the craziness ends, or at least, should end, at the door. 

 

The chaos streams by, and howls in the difference.  Sticking your head out, you get a taste of the madness.

 

Which is fine. 

 

Sometimes, a lot of times, its rewarding to go for a walk in that mix.   Lose yourself in the stream of sights and sounds.  It is relentless, however, and there is no forgiveness.

 

And I stuck my head out today to be thronged with silence.  As if my niche of sanctuary had expanded beyond these walls, and went for miles in many directions. 

 

It was a glimpse of peace.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>