ss1

Takes A Lot Of Stones To Make A Sidewalk
2002-01-31 - 3:18 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

The snow drifts tenderly down.

And I am happy to see another day. 

Last night, tired, I was tired.

Tired from the fight.  So far from the finish line.

Keep the head down, keep the head down.  Like all those meaningless fucking races in junior high and high school.  I can run a decent 800m, but what difference does that make.

Training made sense, depending on the sport I was in.  Wrestling early on, I swore I would never get beat because someone had better conditioning than me.

And they didn't.

I did all the excersizes.  Running?  Head down, head down, huff, huff, huff.  One step at a time.  One foot in front of the other.  Don't give up, never give up. 

No walking.

Junior high, we used to do the initial excercises and take-down drills, then go over to the high-school, they were just starting practice, do their whole practice, and then come back to do the conditioning drills with the team.

Never give up, never give up.  Perhaps, at least cardio-vascularly, the best health of my life.

(Cardio peak in eight grade. Fucking sad, dude.  Although I see your point.  Fuck running for runnings sake.  Give me something to chase or defend, at least.  Cynicism was the downfall of my cardio.)

Then I got past the greco-roman ideal, and the utter honesty of the mat. And tried other things that I liked more.

(yeah, guy...lookit what you're doing...rolling around on the floor in tights with guys...what the fuck is that?) 

Little victiories.  Little celebrations. Perhaps a lesson for life styles, life times, wisdoms don't always come in one day.

One time, I was walking down this dyke with a friend.  We were stoned, as I was most of the time, and this dyke was long, see, real long, an isthmus, a protrusion, an isthmus foundering out into the vast boundless water, a pile of dirt, covered in stones, capped with a sidewalk.

And old man rode by in strange ensemble'.

Riding a bike, overalls tucked into rubber boots, shirt I can't describe.

He saw me, walking walking walking, head down, step by step, one foot in front of the other.

"Takes a lot of stones to make a sidewalk."  he said.

Brother, you are so fucking right on.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>