ss1

Another Stoned Movie Review
2001-06-20 - 9:03 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Stoned Movie Reviews:

 

Keeping the Faith:

Fair movie. Worth seeing.

Good cast, Ed Norton, Ben Stiller, and Jenna Elfman. Good script. Decent writing, good dialogue. Hollywood totally sold this film out.

Ed and Ben were friends with Jenna as kids, she comes back into the scene, old feelings blur, hilarity ensues.

Oh, and Ed and Ben are a Priest and a Rabbi, also. Thus the conflict and the central coneit of the film.

Cheesy hollywood ending.

At first I thought that Ed Norton should've gotten the chick, and it would have been a better movie. Sweeping romantic gesture, preist kisses the girl, gives up his...job...and marries the chick. Big sweeping shot, dramatic pull out, rose petals and doves, everybody lives happily ever after, the end.

I'm a fan of sweeping romantic gestures. But what you are willing to throw away does not necessarily constitute romance, despite what all the abdicated Prince Edward, or whateverthefuck, fans would say.

(you know, the guy who gave up the english crown for the girl...yeah, that idiot)

So really Ed Norton would've been coming out of the blue, almost stalkerish, because he had no lead up, so he does not deserve to get the girl.

That really creeps me, because I identify with Ed Norton for some reason.

Then, thinking more about it, the depth to which Hollywood sold this movie out astounds me. It shouldn't, but it does.

What they should've ended on, was a close up of Ed Norton's face (perhaps with collar on) , talking to Ben Stiller (perhaps wearing a yamaka) saying."Glad we cleared that one up, buddy" and (close up on BEN) Ben saying, (awkwardly)"Yeah, me too."

Slurping sounds in the background.

And they laugh hearty laughs, slapping high fives.

Camera pulls out to see a naked JENNA ELFMANN on her hands and knees between a naked BEN and ED, simultaneously having coital sex and oral sex, known as menage'a trois, in the parlance of our times.

Now you've got to see it. Because I'm going to hell for that.

I guess I tend to think of the ecclesiastical positions in our society as more or less jobs you grt after college. I think I could've BS'd my way into a pastorship. It would've been kinda' wrong, but I think I could've pulled it off. And it makes me wonder how many other guys have thought of this, and the job security, and followed through.

Pretty sure my last pastor did.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>