ss1

Powerlines and Old Friends
2002-07-24 - 12:33 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I went over to my friend, Bill's yesterday.

There was a little distance to start the conversation.  Some of my friends are becoming their jobs.  Bill is a middle school teacher.

Bill is having a child soon.  His wife pressured him into it, something about a biological clock.

However, Bill has not told me this, nor has he told very many people at all about his impending fatherhood.

It is inane, anymore, trying to keep secrets from old friends.  No one keeps mine.  No one keeps Bills.  I knew before his parents did.

Bill has yet to spill the beans.

I went over there, tried to subtly coerce the revelation from Bill.

"What's that hum?"  I said.

It was a buzz like thousands of angry crickets, or bees or some swarming insect.

"Powerlines." Bill said.

They hung heavy, loud and menacing over his driveway.

"Oh, no shit."  I said,"Wow, if you have children, they'll grow up to be retarded."

"No they won't,"  he said, looking exasperated,"I'll keep them in the backyard."

Fucker still hasn't told me.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>