ss1

No Neo Anything, man.
2003-03-30 - 7:53 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Propaganda everywhere.

I don't listen to NPR, I guess just because.  I probably should, but as I pulled out of the driveway today, the radio was still tuned to AM, because I was listening to the hockey game yesterday, when I heard on NPR:

"And everywhere I looked was dust mites and dust mite droppings..."

So I changed the fuckin' station.

Read an article today in T*me magazine, which was a nice fluff peice of propoganda supporting this new twist of imperialistic american policy of pre-empive strikes.  They really tried to sell it in a nice fuzzy warm way, which was a bit spooky given the meathook and body bag realities that lay behind it.  They call it neo-conservatisim.

Yes neo-conservatisim.  Ever since the fine folk of the aryan movement, I've always been a bit suspicious of neo-anything.

And the guiding tenet of neo-conservatisim is to go out and engage any threat to america that exists and remove said threat.  Which of course begs the question who is determining what constitutes a threat, and thereby prioritizing them.

Rome eventually fell, victim to institutionlized religion. I would like to believe that we are on the cusp of fighting several wars that will be the end of war forever, but unfortunately my hopes and dreams are academic idealism, sacrificed on the altar of pragmatisim by werewolves of greed and hubris.  People will continue to suffer.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>