ss1

Today Was a Good Day
2003-04-05 - 2:08 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Today turned out to be a decent day.

An ice storm rolled in last night, out of nowhere, which is presumeably the west, and coated everything with a quarter of an inch of ice.  Pretty to look at, but a pain otherwise.

And included in the iced-up everuthing was my car.  Encased. 

Fuck.

I had an agenda today, but as I heard the pellets of ice hit the window last night, wanting to sleep and not wanting to sleep, but to listen, I pretty much figured my day was shot straight to hell.  The cold ring of hell at that. 

My english teacher would hate me for including the 'cold ring of hell at that' statement, but its the twenty first century and she's dead.  Resp ispa laquoter.

So I punked around a little bit, and decided to get on with it, and see how much of my agenda I could get done.

Went out to my car, and within fifteen seconds, promptly broke my ice scraper on the driver's side window.  Then I sagely pulled the car into the garage and turned the heater up.  Propane heater and a light.

The propane heater was empty.  I filled it up.

Eventually, after breaking another ice scraper, I got my car windows free of the coating of ice.  On my way.

Put in Blues Traveler's 'Traveler's and Theives', which is a good album for this kinda' stuff.  Raging against the odds and not giving a fuck.

In fact, I said something to this effect as I bopped down the road.  Something like, "Its sheet ice and I'm driving forty, I don't give a fuck.  Get the fuck out of my way."  Then laughing about it, because I still managed to speed somehow, I guess.  That and I truly didn't give a fuck.

Stopped at this one McDonald's on my way to campus, which seemed to somehow have a good six inches of solid ice in their parking lot, and I have no idea how they managed to pull that feat off.  Pulled up to the microphone, and when the girl said "How can I help you," had a strong urge to say, "You can start by throwing some salt around the parking lot."  But didn't.  It came out in a laugh, the mirthful laugh of the willing to contend.

Got my food, and she tried to flirt with me.  I think she caught me looking at her tits, but maybe not.  I've been looking at a lot of tits lately.  I figure why not. 

Took my stuff and made it to campus, worked on my program, and the code unfolded so easily.  True, I'd been perking some logic through my head at times, but it was much easier than when I left it.

One of the janitor's kicked me out of the computer lab and I scraped the ice off of my car again.  Looked up and there was the janitor.

"Y'know, I already scraped a quarter inch of ice of my car today."   I said.

His eyes widened in disbelief. "SO DID I!" he exclaimed.  Not too bright, this one.

I've always respected janitors, and all support staff.  Anywhere you go, if you treat them with a modicum of respect, they make good allies.  That, and I've always kept my eyes peeled for the sage taciturn janitor.  The one who reads Nietche and broods as he dustmops the halls of his facility.  The one who's seen the world and has realized the beauty of simplicity.  The value of an easy non-thinking job, leaving his thoughts as his own domain.  Maybe that's me at some point, I don't know.  There are many ways to break a man's soul in the 40 hour slave racket.  That's just one of 'em.  And they make us feel free, just by a slim choice made between types of slavery, a plebiscite for the masses, a wheel that goes on and on.

Trundled slowly down the road, as the roads were hideous, and waited through two shifts of an insignificant light because the people in front of me were ice-cowards.  Go forth and be faithful, and ye shall be rewarded.  I moved through the light with aplomb. 

Eschewed the highway because I thought the secondary roads would have better scenery.  Good choice as the highway was closed right around the time I would have used it because of accidents.

Drove down the road trying to take pictures of the ice on the trees while I drove, almost causing an accident.  Found two little shit-hole towns I never thought of, and raged at a veteran in a four wheel drive who refused to drive with any sack.  Two types of veterans, I thought at that time.  Those who realize how fragile life is, and come back a little scared.  And those who realize how fragile life is, and come back wild and completely random.

Drove past an old homestead farm house, thinking I'd like to own it in an idle moment.  Huge old trees and a big lot with the house offset from the road and all the other cookie cutter houses.  I'd even buy an old tractor tire for a tire swing that would probably never be used.  Then again, those things do have a way of getting used no matter where they are or who puts them up.  Then again, maybe not.

That and a house, a cabin, a retreat in the mountains a short ways away from some good skiing.  And a beach house, next to a strand of white sand and magnificent blue.  I'd spend most of my time at the beach house, but the others would get some love, too.

Made my way to the gym as the conditions worsened.  Talked to the chunky desk girl amanda, who told me no one liked her here.  She said "It might be because I'm a 'b'."  I said, "You might be right."  Thought about hitting on her in some blunt way.  If no one has "liked her" in years, why not.  Somthing like, "No one likes you?  Lets make out.  It'll make you feel better.", something like that.  Or other direct methods.  Not up to my standard matrix of personality and appearance, but hey, she had nice lips that would fit well on my cock.  I could look the other way.

Got a look at her as I was getting ready to leave, and thought better of it. 

Went out into the parking lot and again scraped the ice off my car as conditions got worse and worse.  Train was at the crossing, got out of my car and scraped the ice of my windsheild wiper, forgetting to turn off the delay.  They came alive in my hands, surrising me.  Got back in the mobile and grooved to a little more blues traveler, the cadence of my day. 

I had noticed a guy getting out of his car at the same time as I, and figured he was just taking the ice of his wipers as well, but as I approached, after the train had fled, his car was stranded there with the four way flashers on.  Bad luck, stranded just outside an auto parts store and a service center that are both closed because of time and weather.  Nothing he could do but leave it.  Water water everywhere, but not a drop to drink.

Made it too the mall, parked in the lee of the mall, just like I did at the gym.  Made my way through a clothes store and went and got my hair cut.  I like the girl who cuts my hair.  I noticed that she darkened her hair, and flirted with her a little.  I remembered her new years resolution, while she didn't.  (her new years resolution was 'just me and my son')  she said she was tired of it, and was getting bored, kicking away one guy she had over because he played with her son too much "Trying to be his dad...he's already got a dad.", and "I just let another nice guy walk away."  I sat and wondered if she was talking about me.

Who knows.  I may call her.  I may not.  I don't know.  Some slow and aggressive guy came in after me.  Didn't like him at all.  Put him in the category of "might as well have a mullet".

Came out, didn't scrape my car.  Sat inside it and waited for the wipers to do their dirty work.  Then said, "Fuck it."

Made my way home as conditions got incredibly deplorable.  Visibility was poor, as ice was accumulating on my windshield and there was nothing I could do about it.

Got home just in time as the hole of visibility in my windshield was down to the size of a pie plate.  Made a real nice big dinner for me, and watched my beloved Red Wings come back in the final twelve seconds of regulation to tie the score and stay in the hunt for the western conference crown.

I got everything done today that I wanted to do.  It was a good day.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>