ss1

Being Mr. Important
2002-11-18 - 3:30 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Went and saw grandma and grandpa today.

 

They have a bird feeder.  They keep it well stocked, and hang a bar of suet underneath.

 

I don�t know what suet it, but the birds seem to like it.

 

Big fat sparrows, that will lose a lot of weight when grandmother and grandfather argentum head for scrub pine refuge in florida for the winter.

 

We talked a lot about birds, and the weather, which is to say we talked a lot about nothing.

 

Which is fine. 

 

What was interesting to me, is they got a telephone call while I was there, and it was some insurance salesman that they had bought some annuities from last week.

 

Grandma� can�t hear so well, and the guy was trying to come over.  It was important, but I could tell grandma� was trying to get rid of him, and subtly made the point that if I were to stay, that they wouldn�t have time for him.

 

I left, of course.  I don�t like to fuck up anyone�s day.  Flow like a river, m�man.

 

But it was nice to be made to feel that important to someone, for no real reason other than love and accident of birth.

 

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>