ss1

Cradle of Civilization
2003-06-18 - 2:40 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Sauropods, arthoropods, modern man staring us blank in the face, marching out of the depths of unrecorded history, out of Africa, and I can't download the song I want.

Played it.  Played it a bit much this week, at the old coffee house, watching two aspiring musicians go down the drain, 'Brian and Kim' or something, two perfect suburbia citizens repression until bitter willie lowman death, he could keep a rythym and she couldn't sing for shit, off tune and motionless, both with a palpable abscence of passion- a sin among performers in my eyes, well trained seals or master archivests can do a job but it doesn't stir the soul like an olive in a good martini-my brother in town so we were down there to play said, "Sounds like a great soundtrack to an independent film-and he was right-asked me later if I could give one bit of advice to those struggling young muscians, and I use the term loosely here, what would it be?- and I said, thinking of him in his collared sears special shirt, buttoned up, light blue, sleeves cuffed exactly up and her in her soon to be overweight non-working housewife appearance, "I would lean over and unbutton the top button on his shirt, and that's all he'd need to know,"-and it was true, although he'd probably spend the rest of his life thinking about it and never figure it out--we asked him to sit and jam but he said no way, "My woman said she wants to leave, so I guess I'd better go."--and with him it was always, 'my woman' this, and 'my woman' that, it really made me wonder a bit about him--I have trouble believing anything exists, let alone that I own anything or another person, saying such things smacks of insecurity--I thought, and womankind forgive me for this, please, 'Well, shit, you might want to ask 'your woman' for your balls back, have her pack up the gear and send her home with your parents who are sitting nearby and stick around and jam with the big boys.  Learn something.--but I didn't--and we played, obnoxious kids around, pretensious and condescending--the entitlement mind of perfect suburbia--along with me, and here I sit, unable to download a song as the internet trails in the footsteps of the imbalance of the swagger of homo sapiens straight out of the cradle of civilization.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>