ss1

A Kiss Before Dying?
2002-04-12 - 12:21 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

"Its a good day, sweetie, when my feet hit the floor in the morning,"  the aged barmaid had said.

I had ben going north towards solitude, when I stopped off in the Hard Hat Bar, a nice, quiet blue-collar dive.

I walked in the door, and she greeted me.

"So what did you do now?"  she said.

"Well, nothing good," I said.

And I sat and ordered, bantering with her a bit while the locals scoped me out.

She was very nice.

"Are you having a good day?"  I asked.

I like solitude.  It helps me. 

I mesh with my karma, and my thoughts become me.  I have a strong core personality, but my boundaries are weak. 

Solitude helps me find my soul, which isn't really worth saving, but at least its mine.

I ordered a cheesburger and fries, and ate it heartily.

She kept an eye on me to see if I needed anything.  It was sweet.  It wasn't in a job fashion, other than her doing her job.  It was her caring for other people, and she happened to be in this job.

"You're a sweetheart,"  I said very quietly.

I did not expect her to hear, but she did.

"I'm old, honey.  But I try."   she said as she turned away, flipping her blonde tresses.  She had a nice body, once.  

I got the feeling that life had been hard on her at one time.   I also got the feeling that she rolled with it, and held no angst about it towards anyone, or no one in particular.

I finished the last of my french fries, and felt good about it.  I tapped on the counter rythmically, and left a 50% tip as the owner watched, smiling.

"Thanks.  That was exactly what I needed."  I said.

"Wow."  a local sitting next to me said, "You sure made his day."

"Hell yes," I said, throwing on my jacket and walking out the door. "Seeya."

"Bye sweetie,"  she said.

*     *     *

A day or two later I was reading the paper.  I read the obituaries a bit more than I would like to confess.  Morbid, I know.

She died a few hours after I left.

She was 72.

 

 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>