ss1

get to work, mom!
2009-06-08 - 4:31 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I got my mom working for me right now, training the new girl until she's up to speed.

My old receptionist quit, after dragging it out to a 'will she/won't she' sort of thing. Well, she retired. Good luck.

And I think its good for mom to get out of the house and, inevitably, have to talk about losing dad and all that. I heard her recount the story of his passing for the first time to a patient today. I know it must have been hard.

But, and this is a big but, i think its best she DOES something. She's gotten back to a certain plane of existence...a feasible functionality...in the year since past, but she has no goals, no aspirations. She works on the lawn. She goes up north. And she smokes and drinks. And that's about it.

I'm not one to judge. And I'm not saying she necessarily needs to get a job or anything, really. Her college...is full of nit-wits. When dad died, she said that she needed the summer off to cope. Her immediate supervisor, a complete dipshit, took this personally, and has since refused to give her any more on-line classes to teach, period. Nice response, huh? Oh your husband of forty-some years died? fuck you. What a nice place to work. Fucking fucktards.

But she does need SOMETHING. And having her come in here for a little bit seems to have helped her a little bit. At least I think it has. I hope it has. I had been feeling like a failure in this regard, because I got her to a certain point, but could not get her to progress any farther.

So, idk, its good to see.

Of course, she's driving me crazy, as mothers are won't to do.

eh, what can a guy do.

a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>