ss1

Possession
2007-04-18 - 11:13 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Possession What always makes me wonder about possession and all of that is the fact that Pope John Paul II did two exorcisms in his final years of papacy personally, one right in St. Peter's basillica.

Given the church bureacracy that a person would have to go through to get such an audience, you gotta' wonder what the hell went on.   I know the church has a psychiatrist on staff somewhere.

They WANT to believe its a demon, because that validates all they believe in, because if there is a demon, or devil, then there is a God that fits their philisophical perceptions and faith.  

Then, of course, one must remember that these guys have solidly drank the cool-aid of organized religion, and while there may be some sort of  explanation that falls short of full-blown "demonic possession", it would and could never be recognized as such under current church doctrine and regeime, even with access to the latest advances in psychologic research.  They could conceivably, in their zealousness for validation of their existence, miss out on a tricky diagnoses.

Lets go the other way with it, though, away from the solidly skeptical veiw about what went down in St. Peter's Basilica that day, and listen to an occult point of view, even.

Suppose it was just a misguided spirit with a bad view on the physical, knowing nothing of God, Satan, or much of anything other than the regular asshole on the street, loving the attention, the access, rather than the idiocy of unenlightenment and disembodiment that these things probably exist under.

In that same vein, it is interesting to consider certain things in the Bible that the church really shys away from, notably in...2nd Kings, (I believe, may have been 1st Kings), when Saul is consulting a medium, or sorcerer, about a  battle.  He has contested the Word of the Lord concerning this (God says: don't go) and has summoned a spirit to tell him the outcome of the battle he and his soldiers are going to join.  Spirits happen.

I think...Elijah visits him as an apparition at that point, curses him, and hits the nail on the head, as far as Saul goes, about Saul losing and dying like a motherfucker.

That's gotta' be a hard dollar to come by.   "Yeah, God couldn't make it, but He told me to tell you that you are cursed forever and you're gonna' die like a motherfucker, including anyone and everyone you hold dear.  Sucks to be you, pal."

Considering that apparently God had spoken directly to Saul by name through an intermediary or personally multiple times throughout Saul's life, to fuck things up the way Saul did is reprehensible.

I move through life trying to percieve patterns in the chaos around me for a hope of order.  For some type of direction.  I'd settle for bad driving directions passed on from beyond by a vietnamese kid over a second-hand Ouija board.  In theory, by story, Saul regularly got the Big Guy on the psychic horn.  And he basically, as the story goes, gave the Big Guy the finger and disobeyed a direct order one last time.

Which is as stupid as it gets.  If a disembodied voice came to me and told me to stick my finger up my ass weekly, I'd do it.

Well, most likely, anyway.  I'd bitch about it, though.

I'd say something like, "Disembodied voice of a small deceased vietnamese child, exactly WHY do I have to stick my finger up my ass, I beseech you?  I'm not trying to be an asshole or anything, but....exactly  WHAT am I getting out of this?  I'm not trying to question your will, or anything.  No, no, no, don't get me wrong.  I have lots of lube.  And I'll do it.  But...what's up with that?"

Saul was just told to NOT go to battle or whatever, nothing about sticking his finger in his ass.   He got out light in that respect.

So even by Biblical doctrine there are spirits out there, somewhere, that aren't demons nor angellic.  


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>