ss1

Burned
2006-02-21 - 16:54


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I got burned by the secretary at the front desk. Kathy. Kathy and Loretta live in a cubicle together at the front on the first floor. Its a crap shoot on most days whether or not they'll respond to me when I say 'good morning' when I walk in the door.

Kathy's an older lady, problem makes tons more money than me based on seniority alone.

Anyway, I walked up to the door, and I forgot my badge. Rooting through all my pockets, I took all my items in my search standing in front of the door. She was obviously watching me, because when I leaned over to press the intercom button to be let in, the door clicked and she let me in without discussion.

"Morning." I said, "Can I get a temporary?"

"Sure," she said, bringing up a temporary badge and placing it on the desk.

"Thanks Kathy," I gushed,"You're AWESOME."

"Thanks. You're ok." she said in a reassuring, yet final, tone.

I took a few steps up the stairs when it dawned on me. She just burned the shit out of me.

Pause.

Im ok? Im OK!?

I'm ok. SHE'S awesome, but I'M "ok".

That's cool. Don't mind me. I'm just 'ok'.

I turned around.

"Did you just tell me I'm 'ok'" I asked in a skeptical tone.

"I'M AN OLD LADY AND I'M DOING TWO THINGS AT ONCE." she replied.

Fair enough.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>