ss1

Racist In Training
2006-01-30 - 18:05


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I'm frustrated because I'm getting shafted into doing all the training. I don't mind, per' se', but there are employees here who make much more money than me that should be doing it.

Instead the trainees gravitate towards me and the employees ignore the trainees. It doesn't seem right.

In other news I've had a few racially themed incidents with one of the trainees. In one of our first conversations I tried to lay out the basics of the comapany.

"So, who knows, it might be the place for you. Maybe, maybe not." I said.

"Yeah, that depends..." she said, something on the tip of her tongue, "...that would mean that I have to stay around here...in this area...and this area is...too..."

"ITS TOO WHITE." I said, promptly inserting foot into mouth. That's the truth, though. Its conservative and white here, populated with yuppie scum near where I work, with no diversity whatsoever. Staid and clean neighborhoods and a humorless police force.

"Noo-o-o-o!" she said, "Its not that."

Later on I mentioned this to Audrey and she thought that this was exactly what she wanted to say, that it was too white, but didn't have the courage. Who knows. I swear it was on the tip of her tongue, and I'm usually not wrong about these things.

The other one was something a little different. We were talking about suntans. Or I was. Whatever. I am white, pale white. I stopped tanning when they started hyping the risks of tanning. I look good in a nice glowing tan, but I've also seen the effects of tanning on some girls I've known...and yeesh, you don't need to be 25 and have crows feet.

Anyway, she said, "I don't tan-"

And I lept in quickly with "I know."

She looked at me as to say, 'you racist ass'.

I've lived with several black folks. I seem to remember them saying something, in response to one of my prodding, fumbling, awkward race-related questions, 'Naw, man, everyone burns when they left in the sun long enough, but we don't burn like white folk do. I mean, I burn, not like you will, you know-it takes time, but really dark brothers...man, maybe THEY don't, I don't know.'

"-I don't tan, I BURN." she said.

Whoops. Well, that's good to know.

a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>