ss1

Christmas Shopping
2005-12-11 - 5:41 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I went Christmas shopping today and didn't flip anybody off.


I really wanted to flip an old woman off in a grey chevy malibu at the entrance to the mall.  I was turning in, she was turning out.  I didn't use my blinker.


But what the fuck?  She would have gotten peeled by the 1 and 1/2 ton red chevy silverado roaring by in the adjoining lane.  Turn signals became irrelevant.  Still, this didn't stop her from muttering at me.  However, I didn't think it fit the spirit of the season to toss the bird at a matron.


Then again, maybe it did.  People rushed about, competitive, bustling.  Edging out to the edge of driveways, cutting me off as I walked in the mall, jostling me, making me change my path.


I wanted to lash out.  I wanted to throw down with the mall crowd and start swinging.  There are basic realities we all have to face, and I don't care how far gone you are into your materialism, some things don't change.  Don't jostle the weird.


I pulled into the drive through of McDonalds and ordered some food.  I have a bad attitude.  Its not them, its me, and until I learn to swim in their fabric, I will always be fighting to move upstream.


Found my stuff and ho-ho-ho'd it back  to home.


Still have to go back out into the capitalistic mess.  I envision the future and it is not capitalism.  Its not communisim, either, but some sort of hybrid where corporations are beholden to the average person.  There are boundaries beyond which they cannot encroach, they cannot despoil our land and live tax free.  They cannot expect eighty hour work weeks with the blurring line of home and work, then fire you when retirement and pension looms, defaulting on both promises of health care and money, using people cruelly.


Maybe in the future the government provides a lot of socialized care, but there is still enterprise and free will.  An existance is garunteed, things are shared, and we all work for a common good, not ramshackle to no end. 


I saw an article yesterday.  It said "Man's typo costs tokyo brokerage firm 225 million".  I thought, "Well, someone probably commited seppeku for that one."


I saw another article that said, "Miss Iceland unexpectedly crowned Miss World".  I thought "Well, there'll be no putting up with her after that."  Seriously, I know some girls who still think they're the shit because they were on the highschool cheerleader squad. 


Hand a girl a tiara and name them Miss World?  You are not getting a grilled cheese sandwich and a blowjob out of that woman anytime soon.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>