ss1

AA fundraiser
2005-05-22 - 11:31 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Played 4 shows in 3 days.


Last show was a benefit.  A fundraiser for a man with terminal brain cancer.  I helped raise 500 dollars to send him away for the weekend with his daughter before he dies.


Watch, its all a scam.  A year or two from now, when he's still showing up for meetings, people will question him.


"Weren't you supposed to....?"


"Oh. YEAH. About that....uh...I...uh...got better."


I played for a local Alcoholics Anonymous chapter.  They were an attentive audience.  Good people.  They looked a little fried.  A little burnt, but also looked like they got their shit together.  They had the look that they could be real mean animals if they were on a multi-day bender.  Pretty much what you would expect. 


We ended up playing at their lodge, which was a large, brown log cabin in the middle of the city. 


I'm fine with donating my time.  Perhaps it will be good karma.  And maybe I can brighten someone's day.


However, given the start of this diary...which now seems to be obliterated by the server crash...and where it is now, it is a bit ironic that I'm playing for an AA chapter.  And two weeks from now, the day I come home from Pictured Rocks, I will play for a fundraiser for Narcotics Anonymous and Alcoholics Anonymous.  God DOES have a sense of humor.


Can't wait to see what those people look like.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>