ss1

2
2005-03-02 - 11:47 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

At our gig on Saturday, someone says something about being on TV.


So we voulunteered to play at a local charity auction.


I strolled in, 15 min. late.  I was dressed in my calf lenth navy blue coat with fake pimp fur navy blue collar, black scarf, gold mirrored Columbia sunglasses, purple silk long-sleeved shirt, black double knit polyester bellbottoms, thumbrings, link bracelet on one hand, and black and white leather sketchers.


Nobody said anything.  I just sat up on a stage near the action.  Mick was there and was nervous.


A P.A. greeted me, and muttered hurridly about checking levels and whatver else. I looked at him through mirrored Columbias and said, "Don't worry.  We're professionals."


I threw my coat on my chair, and plugged in.  The sound man snapped at me to check my levels, and asked if my monitor level was ok.


"Its fine."  I said.


I kept the sunglasses on.


Our turn to play came.  And without introduction, I started.  Didn't know exactly what tune I was going to do until 30 seconds before air.  And we played well.


The song ended, and they had no idea.  So we sat for a second while the host sprinted across the stage.  To fill time, I started strumming on my twelve-string again, starting a new song.


The host's mic was dead, and by the time they got it hot, I was starting the intro.


"And...I think they're gonna' play another song for us, right guys?"


I looked at him and nodded.  I caught glances of myself in the monitor.


And we KILLED.  Standing ovation from the crew and the people in the booth.  Interestingly enough, the crew also got responsive to my looks and subtle indications that the song was ending.  I looked up at a PA and he fled to the next stage to get them prepped and ready.  As I finished, I nodded to him, and they threw it over.  It was neat.


They asked us to do two more two song sets.  I agreed to do one more.  I had to have lunch with Audrey.


And our second set killed, too.


 


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>