ss1

The Life And Death Of Peter Sellers
2005-01-03 - 11:42 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Watched the Peter Sellers move.  The Life and Death of Peter Sellers or something like that.  I just had to check imdb.com for the title, so I cant really claim to remember that.  I suppose we'd all be a little better off admitting to where we swipe titles and quotes.  In my good fortune, I seem to swipe quotes from local bar-flies, who are unaware of the existance of the internet.


I thought it was ingeniously done.  Good dialogue, good plot.  And Geoffery Rush was incredible.


And the way it was adapted from a book, c'est magnifique.  Not sure what that means, but french people seem to say it a lot.  Very surreal, breaking the fourth wall often.


The problem I do have with it, though, centers around this:  its all recollections of people around him, and this is all after the cat died.


Yeah, he sounds like some kind of whacked out asshole.  Sure.  In the right mind from the right people, this is possible for many of us.  Or at least me.  It was one part that rang hollow, though.


Peter was separating from his wife to pursue an affair with...damn, Sofia Lauren, I believe.  I could be wrong about that.  Still, that's immaterial.


What is, is that the separation scene seems to come straight out of the memory of the oldest son.  And in that scene, the boy asks Peter, as Peter and his first wife storm around dramatically, and asks, "Daddy, dont you love us anymore?"


Peter leans down to his first born son and says, "Dont be silly.  Of course I love you and your mother.  Just not as much as Sofia Lauren."


Now, perhaps someone has an axe to grind.  This is entirely possible.  Or perhaps it did happen, in a sense, but Peter was being sarcastic and not even saying it to the kid.  I dont know. 


So many life stories are told by the survivors.  The profiteers.  The people who want to rob your grave.


Really, I've tried to carry myself in a manner that if I was ever successful, or died untimely, that no one could ever say that I didnt have time for them.  Whacked out asshole, sure.  Its possible.  I cant say that its not. 


But just be fair.

Still, I would recommend seeing it, if you like a good character actor.  Geoffery Rush is excellent.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>