ss1

Boo, El Gato, Negro
2003-11-10 - 12:15 a.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

Boo, el gato negro, says hi.

My familiar stalks around my desk, blending in with the dark, at first hiding in the desk, then on the old stack IBM, now he prowls the to
P end0--------o=][

top envirions as evidenced by the scrawl above.  He hears the noise and feels left out, I guess.  Now he watches me from the shadows of the rather large and ungainly IBM, me being forced here because my laptop puked, for no certain reason.  I'm trying to diagnose it myself, with only luck coming in ruling things out.  Boo's green eyes, ever watchful of me peer out from the dark.  I would love to think Im that interesting.

He was wired today, so I did something I havent done yet.  I took him outside.  He was fearful at first, and I had to c3o44444444444444444444489[[[p====4

ahem.  thank you, boo.  I had to coax him.  I dont think this was my wisest move.  Perhaps it would have been a better thing if he remained fearful of the out of doors forever.  I can protect him indoors.  Already I am attatched to this small animal.  I love him, even though he can be a frustrating little bitch.  There are so many perils for a baby kitty outside my friendly little asteroid.

It was a weird good feeling, watching him in wonderment at all the input, in awe of the world.  And I wondered how many people can really...goddam, boo, you farted...how can such a small animal stink so badly??  What the fuck, dude?  You stink!  Yeah, and now you leave me with it, and go fuck with the fake flowers. 

"What are you doing, boo?"  I say.  And immediately he stops and peers at me with his innocent green eyes.  Something is telling me this game is about my attention, rather than anything to do with what he's actually doing.  Call it a hunch.

Anyway.  Yeah, meow backatcha.

How many people can go outside with their kitty and not have it run away and do cat things, like climb trees?  So I tried it, to tire him out.

I watched him with a parental eye.  I think he smelled another cat.  Everytime I called he came, and although I didnt test it, he didn't wander too far, although a certain wild look did catch his eye.

In the end, I called to him, he came, and I carried him back inside.  Even in his wonderment, his kitten adhd, carried on and about by stimuli! stimuli! stimuli!

And now, I think of an old man I saw not too long ago, as I drove along, I saw him from the road, walking out to get the paper with a big, fluffy grey cat.  The cat walked stiffly and slow, as if old, too, both being near the end of their lives.  The old man put the paper down for the cat to inspect, then they both slowly, creakily walked back into the house.

If it was me, and I were boo, I dont know for sure, but Id probably just run about and not have came.  I did as much often when I was a child.  Then again, who knows, he does have a pretty sweet deal.

Such a trusting little creature, so different for me than a lot of feline experiences.  I gave him a bath with a kitty wipe.  He meowed, but didn't fuss.  Its like, whatever I do is okay with him, such a sacred trust between two creatures, something I must do all I can not to break, or savage in my all too common human thoughtlessness.

I wonder about the upcoming declawing/neutering.  I'm going to try to arrange it so someone else takes him, so he doesnt associate that with me.  I dont want him to go through hurt, much like I dont want any creature to suffer, but especially because I care.  But...its the right thing to do.  Poor bastard.

Anyway, its a maudlin thing to write about, a man's love for his kitty.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>