ss1

Good Idea
2003-08-27 - 5:22 p.m.


before/after
strangely non-functional guestbook

I have been rather emotional lately.

There's likely a lot of reasons why, intrinsically and extrinsically, but for now I'm going to blame it on watching Michael Moore's documentary "Bowling for Columbine."

Its a good documentary, well put together.  Its also very manipulative, especially concerning a topic that has always felt very emotional to me, despite my complete disengagement with otherwise.

I mean, yeah, I've had exposure, but its not like I was related to, or even knew the people who died.  Still, seeing people suffer so makes me hurt inside.

In one scene from Bowling for Columbine, Moore has a clip that details a good portion of the attrocities commited by the US in the past sixty years or so in the name of "vital interests".

It details our meddling in Iraq and Iran, Chile, Panama, El Salvador, replete with body counts and a few pictures.  These are all things I knew, and maybe even know more about than he.  I say that, because he missed a few other places.

I hate seeing people suffer, the terror, the tears.  It breaks my heart.  Nobody should have to live through that.  But they do.

And we could all have a better world, without killing and terror, if we just wanted it badly enough.  Badly enough that we all are on the same wavelength, that we all in some literal or figurative way, our generation, or the ones to come behind us, clasped hands and stopped hurting each other, just connect with everybody.

Scarcity of resources coupled with materialism and fucked up values judging the worth of a man as he grows older will ensure the disconnect.

And there's another sequence in the same scene that shows several people commiting suicide, some getting shot by others, but a lot of real people taking guns into their mouths and blowing the backs of their heads off.

That's stuck with me.  Especially the one guy who called the press conference.  I think he might have been a part of the Reagan administration, but I could be wrong about that.  I do know that Filter wrote their song "Hey Man, Nice Shot" about the guy I saw.  That's old news, however.

Seeing all that suffering, then getting buffeted by the news, with people being hurt, killed, and so many with a maniacal indifference to it all.

And the fat american, unaware of it all.  But what could he do, even if he was?  Nothing.

I hate it.

The unfortunate thing, side effect of this documentary, is the rabble rousing with no real solution.

Unfortunately, regardless of whether the firearm should have ever been made for mass possession or mass production, there is no option for the US at this point.  If firearms were outlawed, the social upheaval would be immense, and that would be bad for the rest of the world in many ways, socially and economically.

And the upheaval wouldn't be in terms of crime run amok, or anything such as that.  Pure militia groups would revolt, and actions like the Oklahoma City Bombing would not be singular.

I hate it all.  We could all be living in Eden right now, naked, eating food on the vine, maybe in the fields, fucking and loving each other all day long.

Oh no.  I'm wrong.

Lets all suffer a whole lot.

Good idea, religion.  Good idea, government.


a template by wicked design

about comment designer archive archives newest diaryland

tml>